In 2010, then-governor Jon Corzine finalized the legalization of medical cannabis in New Jersey, becoming the 14th state to approve such directives. As long as you have a Medical Cannabis Card, you can purchase the drug at a dispensary in the state.
After 12 long years of debates and delays, the Garden State finally made it legal to use pot for personal and recreational purposes. Naturally, you will still have to follow New Jersey medical cannabis laws.
Read on to discover some tips for buying and using cannabis in NJ.
Whether you want to buy medical cannabis in Phillipsburg, Maplewood, or Lodi, you should follow state laws. After all, lawmakers developed New Jersey’s Medicinal Cannabis Program to help patients safely shop for medical cannabis from regulated facilities.
As a general rule, patients can buy up to 3 oz of medical cannabis from healthcare specialists per month. They can visit any state-licensed NJ Alternative Treatment Center (ATC) to fill their cannabis orders. Patients who cannot travel to such a store can designate caregivers to buy cannabis-based medicine for them.
If you’re a registered patient under the Medicinal Cannabis Program (MCP), following New Jersey cannabis-related laws is crucial. They’re there to keep individuals like you safe from health and legal risks.
Below are a few guidelines to remember.
After 12 years of legalizing medical cannabis, the state finally legalized its use for recreational purposes in April of 2022. New Jersey residents overwhelmingly approved this move, which was an obvious choice for state officials.
New Jersey’s Cannabis Regulatory, Enforcement, Assistance, and Marketplace Modernization (CREAMM) Act has legalized the sale and use of cannabis products for people aged 21 years and above. The state will follow the newly adopted NJ-CRC rules to regulate the NJ cannabis industry.
Below are some of the most common questions about recreational cannabis laws.
Anyone of legal age — residents and visitors alike — can buy cannabis.
You can buy cannabis-based products from a NJ dispensary.
No matter how diverse their menu is, dispensaries can only legally release an ounce of cannabis every transaction. This amount equates to one dried flower, five grams of concentrates, or 1,000 mg of ingestible items like gummies. Dispensaries can mix and match these products as long as they don’t exceed the allowed amount.
You will also find weed in vape formulas, tinctures, syringes, and some types of edibles like gummies. You can’t find perishable edibles, like brownies, in dispensaries.
Prices depend on the product you’re buying and the location. However, all transactions will include 6.625% sales tax and a social equity excise fee worth ⅓ or 1% of the purchase.
You can only smoke cannabis in private areas. However, landlords have the right to forbid its use in their properties.
No, it is illegal to transport cannabis — even the medical variety — across state lines.
No, you may not drive while high. Doing so is illegal.
Do you need more information about New Jersey medical cannabis laws and recreational use? At the Apothecarium Dispensary, we offer free consultations at our Phillipsburg and Maplewood branches.
Please submit your required documents here so we can address your questions and cannabis requirements.
When it comes to cannabis, there is no one-size-fits-all. Different people react differently to different dosages, making it tough to determine the right amount for you. Cannabis edibles are especiall...View Post
Pennsylvania Medical Marijuana Laws Pennsylvania is one of the latest states to legalize marijuana for medicinal purposes. Patients with qualifying conditions will now be able to receive tr...View Post
In 2010, then-governor Jon Corzine finalized the legalization of medical cannabis in New Jersey, becoming the 14th state to approve such directives. As long as you have a Medical Cannabis Ca...View Post